Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeConsider ThisGood Reading

Good Reading

books by Bill BeamanHopefully moments of time come to every grazier’s life when their animals are taken care of for the day, well fed and  comfortable, and their owners just want to sit down in their favorite chair and relax, and okay, maybe even get lost in a good book and turn their imaginations loose.

That’s what motivated Farmer-Author Bill Beaman of southern Iowa to start writing books. “I’m a voracious reader, and I never go to bed at night without a good book. I think that’s one of the reasons I enjoy writing. I love trying to tell a good story and to entertain people.”

And that’s what he’s done. Beaman’s first three books, The Iowa Farmer’s Wife, Second Chance, and 3 Little Pigs, form a trilogy that takes place is rural farm country.

The whole series begins with the murder of a local banker found lying under a secluded bridge with a pitchfork buried in his chest. If you enjoy murder mysteries that include romance and humor, these books are for you. Set in a rural community, often times the farm animals are as important to the plot as their owners.

The stories are written from first hand experience. The Beamans have devoted much of their farming careers to grazing beef cows and sheep. While the books are fictional, one can not read them without feeling the Beamans have “been there, done that.”

Beaman’s books are available in paperback and Kindle on Amazon or at their website, They also can be read on most ebooks.

Your Tips Keep This Library Online

This resource only survives with your assistance.

Kathy Voth
Kathy Voth
I am the founder, editor and publisher of On Pasture, now retired. My career spanned 40 years of finding creative solutions to problems, and sharing ideas with people that encouraged them to work together and try new things. From figuring out how to teach livestock to eat weeds, to teaching range management to high schoolers, outdoor ed graduation camping trips with fifty 6th graders at a time, building firebreaks with a 130-goat herd, developing the signs and interpretation for the Storm King Fourteen Memorial trail, receiving the Conservation Service Award for my work building the 150-mile mountain bike trail from Grand Junction, Colorado to Moab, Utah...well, the list is long so I'll stop with, I've had a great time and I'm very grateful.

Welcome to the On Pasture Library

Free Ebook!

Latest Additions

Most Read